A Bad Parent

Sometimes (almost all the time), I feel like such a bad parent. I’m in bed all day because of my disease and there are so many things I don’t do as a parent. I don’t take my kid to school. I don’t cook. I never take him anywhere, since I can only leave my home during very special circumstances.

But what’s worse than all that is that I can’t handle my own feelings when he’s upset. When certain things happen to my kid, I relive all the times it has happened to me and my world falls apart. When my kid is overwhelmed or when I can tell that he’s not understanding a situation and therefore has a hard time coping, I feel the same way. Sometimes I fake that I’m calm as good as I can, other times his other parent is with him and then I stay in my bedroom and feel like shit.

Because of my disease, I don’t do much parenting at all anymore. I feel guilty and ashamed. I think about my kid all the time and try to solve things like how to find a good school and what not but for too much time, I’m not there.

I’m so sad that I didn’t get a chance to understand myself and learn how to help myself as a kid. Because when my kid is upset, I’m still a kid. Partly because of all the things I never learned as a kid. I didn’t know what it felt like to have your experience validated as a kid. I didn’t have anyone to ask for guidance on how to deal with all the stuff you deal with as autistic. I never felt safe.

I want to comfort my kid when he’s upset but just like me, he runs to his room and slams the door. He doesn’t want to be comforted when he’s too upset and of course, I have to respect that. But since I never allow people to comfort me either, these kind of situations turn into an emotional chaos to me. And I feel lika I’m the worst parent in the world.

Update August 11: Since this post, I’ve done some thinking and partly changed my mind. You can read my following thoughts here and here.

One thought on “A Bad Parent

Leave a Reply

