Lacking Information and Processing Problems

Content: This post mentions anxiety and discusses processing problems and chaos in relation to poor information about disability services.

 

 

I’ve been approved for some disability service. It means that somebody will come and do some cooking, cleaning and laundry for me. Earlier today I tweeted about how much anxiety I’ve had ever since I found out that I am approved for this help, and in this post I’ll try to explain one of the reasons – processing difficulties because of lack of information.

A red rectangle with black. and white images inside it picturing cooking for someone, cleaning and a washing machine.

This is disability service, or more correctly a symbol for disability service. I will get help with cooking, cleaning and laundry.

The rectangle is now grey, but the black and white pictures are still there. Around them questions marks have been scattered.

I know what kind of services I’ve been granted but, there is information I don’t have about this service. Some of the information I don’t have can be articulated into questions, like “are there time limits for each task?”. However, with most of the stuff I don’t know it’s different. All I know is that there are things missing to create a whole image in my mind, like pieces that connect the known pieces to each other. I know that I don’t understand how this service is supposed to work, but I don’t know what information I’m lacking and therefore I can’t articulate questions about it. The red color in the first picture is like the glue that creates a connectcion between the other pieces – but it isn’t there. The pieces of information I have are like fragments that are not properly attached to each other because of the missing information.

Same grey rectangle but now the pictures of a washing machine, cooking for somebody and cleaning have been tossed around so they are tilting and look like they are just scattered around together with question marks.

People seem to expect that I’m supposed to understand the information I have and ask about the things I don’t know, but to me it doesn’t work like that. Since there are pieces missing, I can’t process the whole picture and I don’t even understand the information I have. I can process the things I know as individual fragments, but that doesn’t give me a clear picture of what it’s going to be like to get this help. Instead, trying to think about this disability service is like trying to make sense of a chaos. Pieces of information are tumbling around. My brain works constantly trying to process and understand what it will be like to have this help but all it does is draining me of energy and causing anxiety.

One thought on “Lacking Information and Processing Problems

Leave a Reply

