Switching Roles of Pain

My partner hurt his foot the other day. It’s probably not serious but at the moment he is in pain and has to use crutches to walk. To my own surprise this is evoking quite a lot of emotions, and several times a day I find myself thinking about practical solutions in an attempt to get rid of these feelings. When I tell myself “stop it – deal with your feelings” I reach a point where I start reflecting on my experience of vulnerability. It’s hard, but also a big relief.

Seeing my partner in pain gives me an urge to do anything that can eliminate his pain, because I don’t want him to suffer. Unfortunately I can’t do very much about it and I know that in this situation the best thing I can do is to accept that, and not let my incapacity cause me frustration that then becomes an extra burden to my partner. This experience is a switch in roles, because usually he’s the one who has to deal with the experience of not being able to make my pain go away, as I’m the one living with chronic pain. The situation is difficult, but it does give us both a better understanding of the other’s challenges. Because no matter how much we talk about this stuff, we are two different people with two quite different ways of perceiving the world and there are nuances, feeling, thoughts and sensations that aren’t being captured in our words. Not yet, at least.

This situation highlights power dynamics that usually are more obscure. The position I’m in right now when my partner’s new limitations make him more depending on me puts me in a position of power. It exists simultaneously with me having to deal with my incapacity to make his pain go away and with my dependency on his help in my everyday life. I have to deal with being in a position of power and feeling frustrated because of my sense of powerlessness at the same time. I do this everyday (that’s what being a parent is about) but it’s new in relation to my partner.

Reflecting on the changed power dynamics has brought me to face the experience of vulnerability, and that was what this post was originally planned to discuss. As it turns out I had a need to sort out some line of thoughts first, but I’m planning on writing about my thoughts about vulnerability in my next post.

 

Leave a Reply

