Longing for confirmation and comfort

I’m kind of ashamed to admit this but sometimes I find myself in this really desperate longing for confirmation of my autistic identity. Very few people that know me behind the anonymity know that I’m autistic, and I feel like I’m fooling people, or being deceptive and manipulative. I don’t want to live in the closet like this, but I have to for my kid’s safety. I guess that’s why I sometimes long so hard for somebody to acknowledge my identity. For somebody to see that certain things that I can’t do or do in a specific way is because of me being autistic, and not because of my other disabilities.

There are people in my life who know that I’m autistic and respect it, but most of them aren’t autistic themselves. To be honest, I don’t know why that matters so much to me. But it does. Maybe I just wish I had a context, or an autistic community of people where I could stop the passing act. Where I could LEARN to stop the passing act, because right now I don’t really know how to stop it. Not that I always pass, because I do come off as weird, but my weirdness is perceived as being rude, shy, too intense or a bunch of other things that tend to be ableist with a touch of misogyni. That’s not a confirmation of my identity.

On top of longing for confirmation I’m longing for something else. This is even harder to admit but I need to state it: I want comfort. I’m not very good at being comforted by other people but right now that’s what I want. I want someone to hold me and help me carrying this mourning because it’s too much for me. A couple of months ago I wrote that I won’t mourn forever, but right now I’m wondering if it will ever stop.

Leave a Reply

